Planning Commission

John Martinez - Chairperson
Scott Smith - Vice Chairperson
Madonna Sitka - Planning Commissioner
Ni Kal S. Price - Planning Commissioner
Erick Escamilla - Planning Commissioner

Current terms expire February 28, 2023


Each Planning Commission member receives a $50.00 stipend for each meeting attended.

Each Planning Commission member is appointed by the City Council. Current City of Lawndale City Council members are not permitted to serve on the Planning Commission.

Commission members are only allowed to serve on one Commission at any one time for the City.


NEXT REGULAR MEETING: Wednesday, December 8, 2021 - 6:30 p.m.

Meeting Dates: 
 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the month
Start Time: 6:30 p.m.
Location: Lawndale City Hall Council Chambers
Address:  14717 Burin Avenue, Lawndale CA 90260

Planning Commission agendas are available the Thursday before a meeting at Lawndale City Hall in the Community Development Department, online, and on the outdoor notice board.

Masks are required upon entry. All attendees must follow social distancing protocols.


State law requires that every city have a planning agency to carry out the city's land use policies. The City Council created the Planning Commission in 1959 by ordinance. That ordinance and all subsequent revisions later became Chapter 2.40 of the Lawndale Municipal Code, which contains all City policies specific only to the Planning Commission.

The Planning Commission stands alone among the appointed bodies in being the only one with regulatory powers, and the only one whose duties are partially specified in state laws. Because of the significance of their duties, planning commissioners are required to annually file statements declaring their economic interests while in office.

The Planning Commission consists of five members, that regularly meet twice a month. Commissioners receive a small stipend for each meeting attended. The Director of Community Development serves as the staff representative to the commission.

Site Powered by: Civiclive © 2004-2021